Jump to content

Dobrodošli na Balkandownload.org
Tražite domaće knjige, exyu magazine, sinhronizirane crtane filmove, PC i ostale igre, strane i domaće filmove, dokumentarce, stranu i domaću muziku, itd. ? Ne morate tražiti dalje jer sve ćete to naći kod nas, uredno postavljeno i spremno za download. Osim toga registracijom možete sudjelovati u raznim postojećim temama na forumu, otvarati nove teme, sudjelovati na chatu i još mnogo toga. Ako već imaš otvoren račun, logiraj se ovde ,a ako želiš saznati zašto smo najbolji otvori novi račun i uverite se sami :)

Arthur Bliss - Piano Concerto; PianoSonata; Concerto for 2 pianos and Orchestra (2004)

Classical FLAC

No replies to this topic

Joshida Kagero

Joshida Kagero

    Silver Member

  • Prijatelj foruma
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,913 posts
  • 5370 thanks
  • Location/root

Arthur Bliss - Piano Concerto; PianoSonata; Concerto for 2 pianos and Orchestra [Lloyd-Jones]



Classical | EAC: FLAC+Cue+Log | 1 Cd, Cover+Booklet | 301 Mb
Label: Naxos - Date: 2004
Although outspoken in his support of the post-World War I Parisian avant-garde during his youth, English composer Arthur Bliss ended his long career as a dedicated proponent of a more conservative, neo-Romantic musical aesthetic. Educated at Pembroke College, Cambridge and at the Royal College of Music (where he found his studies with Charles Stanford too stifling), Bliss' earliest music (all later withdrawn and subsequently destroyed by the composer) shows a strong knowledge of and interest in the music of Edward Elgar.

After service with the Royal Fusiliers (and later the Grenadier Guards) during the War, however, Bliss' musical aesthetic changed dramatically, and he quickly became known as a thoroughly "modern" composer, owing more allegiance to the exciting happenings on the continent than to the musical life of his own country. His music from the 1920s (such as the Rhapsody for two voices and chamber ensemble) is characterized by unusual vocal techniques, jazz influence, and striking harmonic procedures (not to mention occasionally exotic ensembles (e.g., the incidental music to The Tempest, 1921, scored for two male voices, trumpet, trombone, piano, gong, and five percussionists!).

Bliss' notable career as a conductor began in 1921 with his appointment as conductor of the Portsmouth Philharmonic Society. Invited to compose a work for the Three Choirs Festival in 1922, Bliss created one of his best-known works, the Colour Symphony; this adventuresome work had the unwelcome side effect of causing a strain in the relationship between Bliss and Elgar, a dedicated conservative through whom the actual commission for the work had come. After two years in California with his brother and father (1923-1925) (during which time Bliss lived in semi-retirement from the musical world and married Trudy Hoffmann), the composer returned to Great Britain and resumed his active composing career with the Introduction and Allegro of 1926 (commissioned and premiered by Leopold Stokowski).

Over the course of the 1920s Bliss began to re-evaluate his heritage as a composer and found him veering away from the "modernist" tendencies of the post-War years in favor of a richer melodic approach in which sound musical rhetoric and construction occasionally suffer in favor of expression and clarity of dramatic purpose. The five-movement Morning Heroes, a choral symphony dedicated to the victims of World War I and premiered in 1930, is a fine example of Bliss' new outlook.

The first years of World War II were spent in the United States teaching at Berkeley, but Bliss returned to England to take over as director of music at the BBC from 1942 to 1944. Knighted for services to British music in 1950, Bliss served as Master of the Queen's Music from 1953 to until his death in 1975 at the age of 83.
From Allmusic


01. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in B flat major I. Allegro con brio [0:16:47.21]
02. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in B flat major II. Adagietto [0:10:39.60]
03. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra: Andante maestoso III. Molto vivo [0:11:26.11]
04. Sonata for Piano I. Moderato marcato [0:07:59.05]
05. Sonata for Piano II. Adagio sereno [0:07:56.70]
06. Sonata for Piano II. Allegro [0:05:58.45]
07. Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra [0:12:10.02]



Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Edited by malizeleni, 08 March 2013 - 17:59.

Ko nema u vugla, ima u Gugla
Posted Image

Proklete pijavice i bezkicmenjaci!

Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Classical, FLAC

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users